The wait is too damn long

For this assignment, I turned to Facebook to find an article worthy of this assignment. While I know a few politics majors, their posts probably would have gone way over my head. Instead, I turned to the sassiest of my friends, knowing I would have an abundance of links to choose from. Though I would not peg him (we’ll call him J) for a political person, suddenly when election season rolled around, J was vehemently anti-Romney. However, I went with one of the more tame stories about voting day and the incredible lines some people found at their polling site, specifically those in Ohio and Florida.

The article itself turns out to be less of an article, and more of a picture gallery of insanely long lines and equally bored people in various Ohio and Florida cities. The comment section is surprisingly optimistic. Many of the 484 comments thank those who waited in line to express themselves and vote.

Image

This photo, taken from Daily Kos, is of the photographer’s 9 hour wait time in Aventura, FL

In class, we’ve talked extensively about social media in Obama’s campaign and how that component helped him win the vote of young people and ultimately the election.  And while it’s easy to support someone from the comfort of your own home with a few tweets here and a Facebook status there, it’s another thing to actually wait in line on Election Day and vote. In the past, there have been several campaigns targeted at young people with the hopes of mobilizing young voters—most famously Rock the Vote. I didn’t see much of that this election. I think in the past, young people didn’t exercise their right to vote because they weren’t educated enough about the candidates and their issues. I would definitely put myself in that category. But social media actually makes candidates more accessible. I don’t need to watch every debate to know what the hot topics were, I can (and did) turn to twitter and get an easily digestible summary of what happened. So while this article doesn’t literally say much, it shows a lot more, mainly that people did endure six hour wait times, just so they could vote.

Leave a Reply

